

KURE BEACH TOWN COUNCIL EMERGENCY MEETING SEPTEMBER 4TH, 2008

MINUTES

On September 4, 2008, the Kure Beach Town Council held an emergency meeting for the purpose of declaring a State of Emergency for Tropical Storm Hanna. A quorum of the Council was present.

COUNCIL PRESENT
Mayor Mac Montgomery
Mayor Pro Tem Jim Dugan
Commissioner Barry Nelder
Commissioner Jim Vatrt
Commissioner Dean Lambeth

COUNCIL ABSENT None

STAFF PRESENT

Town Administrator Michelle James John Batson, Building Inspector Sonny Beeker, Public Works Director Harold Heglar, Fire Chief Paul Hubbard, Police Department Town Clerk Nancy Avery

Mayor Montgomery called the emergency meeting to order at 6 pm stating:

- New Hanover County Board of Commissioners met earlier in the day and declared a State of Emergency for Tropical Storm Hanna to be effective at 6 am on Friday, September 5, 2008.
- Tropical Storm Hanna is expected to make landfall between 4 -6 pm on Friday, September 5, 2008.
- The County has called for a voluntary evacuation, will open three shelters at noon on September 5, 2008 and will open the public information center at the Emergency Operations Center at 7 am on September 5, 2008.
- The Kure Beach Town Council must also declare a separate State of Emergency to go along with the County's to activate Federal Emergency Management Authority (FEMA) funds.
- As per the Town's Emergency Management Plan, Mayor Pro Tem Dugan is the Emergency Management Coordinator and is in charge of all decision making while the State of Emergency is in effect. Town Administrator James will serve as the administrative assistant to the Emergency Management Coordinator while the State of Emergency is in effect.
- The Town's State of Emergency will be in effect at 6 am on September 5, 2008, will call for a voluntary evacuation and will activate the Town's Emergency Management Plan for the duration of the State of Emergency.

ACTION – Commissioner Vatrt MADE THE MOTION to adopt a Declaration of State of Emergency effective 6 am on Friday September 5, 2008. Mayor Pro Tem Dugan seconded the motion. THE VOTE OF APPROVAL WAS UNANIMOUS.

ACTION – Commissioner Nelder MADE THE MOTION to adjourn at 6:15 pm. Commission Vatrt seconded the motion. THE VOTE OF APPROVAL WAS UNANIMOUS.

Mac Montgomery, Mayor

ATTEST: Nancy Avery, Town Clark

p/minutes/2008/council/other/TCEM090408