



September 24, 2018 DR-4393-NC NR 010 Media Contact: (256) 454-3863



Nine Additional North Carolina Counties Designated for Individual Assistance

RALEIGH, N.C. – Homeowners, renters and business owners in Hoke, Hyde, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Pitt, Richmond, Scotland and Wilson counties may now apply for disaster assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from <u>Hurricane Florence</u>.

To be eligible for federal disaster aid, storm damage and losses from the hurricane and flooding must have occurred as a result of Hurricane Florence, beginning Sept. 7.

If you have a homeowner's or flood insurance policy, file your insurance claim immediately before applying for disaster assistance.

If you have phone and/or internet access, you may register:

- Online at <u>DisasterAssistance.gov</u>, or
- On the <u>FEMA Mobile App</u>, or by
- Calling **800-621-3362** (800-462-758 TTY). Multilingual operators are available. Press 2 for Spanish and press 3 for other languages.

Do not wait to begin your cleanup and repairs. Take photos of all damage and save all receipts.

Remember, FEMA assistance alone cannot make survivors whole. FEMA's disaster assistance programs are designed to help with grants for basic repairs to make survivors' homes safe, sanitary and secure and to provide a temporary place to live while survivors develop their recovery plans.

Long-term, low-interest disaster loans from the <u>U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA)</u> also may be available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations.

FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments. However, disaster survivors without insurance or who are underinsured may still receive help after insurance claims have been settled.

These counties were also designated for FEMA's <u>Public Assistance Program</u> for debris removal and emergency protective measures (Categories A and B), including direct federal assistance.

(more)

Nine Additional North Carolina Counties Designated for Individual Assistance – Page 2

Eighteen North Carolina counties were previously designated for federal disaster assistance. They are: Beaufort, Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Cumberland, Duplin, Harnett, Lenoir, Jones, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Robeson, Sampson, and Wayne.

For more information on North Carolina's recovery from Hurricane Florence, visit <u>NCDPS.gov/NCEM</u> and <u>FEMA.gov/Disaster/4393</u>. Follow us on Twitter: <u>@NCEmergency</u> and <u>@FEMARegion4</u>.

###

FEMA's mission: Helping people before, during and after disasters.

The NC 211 statewide information line can provide callers with nearby shelter, housing and other storm-related details.

Dial 2-1-1 or 888-892-1162 (TTY), or text Florence to 898211. The information line is staffed around the clock to connect North Carolinians to storm resources.