

TOWN COUNCIL ACTIONS December 13, 2023 Regular Organizational Meeting

COMMITTEES

- 1. Approved the Bike/Ped Committee changing their scheduled meeting time from 3:00 p.m. to 10:00 a.m on the first Monday of the month
- 2. Accepted the resignation of Connie Mearkle from the Planning & Zoning Commission

COUNCIL/LEGAL

- 1. Rescheduled the Town Council meeting from Monday, January 15, 2024 to Tuesday, January 16, 2024
- 2. Scheduled the Annual Retreat for Friday, February 2, 2024 at 9:00 a.m.
- Oaths of office taken by newly elected officials:
 - o Allen Oliver, Mayor
 - o David Heglar, Commissioner
 - o Dennis Panicali, Commissioner
 - o Connie Mearkle, Commissioner
- Commissioner Heglar appointed as Mayor Pro Tem
- Commissioner Panicali appointed as Building Commissioner (2 year appointment)
- Commissioner Mearkle and MPT Heglar appointed to serve on the Kure Beach/Carolina Beach Sewer Authority
- Mayor Oliver, Mayor Pro Tem Heglar and Commissioner Panicali designated as banking signatories
- Mandy Sanders to MPO Technical Coordinating (TCC)
- Mo Linquist to the MPO Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee
- John Cawthorne to the MPO Citizens Advisory Committee
- Assigned the following Council Liaisons to Town Committees:
 - o Commissioner Ellen Council of Governments (COG)
 - o Commissioner Ellen MPO Advisory Board
 - o Commissioner Panicali- Ports, Waterway and Beach Commission
 - o Mayor Oliver- Tourism Development Authority (TDA)

Mayor Oliver assigned the following Council Liaisons to Town Departments and Roles:

- Mayor Oliver Administration
- Commissioner Ellen Recreation Department
- Commissioner Mearkle- Finance Department
- Commissioner Panicali- Fire Department
- Mayor Oliver Police Department
- MPT Heglar Public Works Department
- MPT Heglar Emergency Manager

Mayor Oliver assigned the following Committee Liaisons:

- Mayor Oliver Community Center Committee
- Commissioner Mearkle Marketing Committee



TOWN COUNCIL ACTIONS December 13, 2023 Regular Organizational Meeting

- Commissioner Panicali- Planning & Zoning Committee
- Commissioner Panicali Historic Preservation Commission
- Commissioner Panicali Shoreline Access and Beach Protection
- Commissioner Ellen Bike/Ped Committee
- MPT Heglar Stormwater Oversight Committee
- Commissioner Ellen Pleasure Island Chamber of Commerce
- Mayor Oliver and Commissioner Ellen MOTSU

FINANCE

POLICIES/RESOLUTIONS/PROCLAMATIONS/ORDINANCES

NO ACTION/FOLLOW-UP/TABLED

APPROVED MINUTES

Minutes:

- 10/23/2023 Special
- 11/20/2023 Regular
- 11/21/2023 Special
- 11/21/2023 Closed