In the state of North Carolina, there are two forms of municipal government: Mayor/Council and Manager/Council. Kure Beach functions as a Mayor/Council government which means the elected Council is solely accountable for the direct administration as well as oversight of municipal functions.

The governing body of the Town of Kure Beach is the Kure Beach Town Council, which has five (5) members. Four (4) members of the Town Council are elected to staggered four-year terms. The Mayor is an elected position and serves a two-year term. Members are elected in a non-partisan election every two years, in the odd numbered year.

The Town Council Room at Town Hall serves as the voting precinct for the Town.


Town Council meetings are held the 3rd Monday of the month at 6:00 pm in the Council chambers at Town Hall.


Occasionally, the Council schedules special meetings or public hearings. Notice of these meetings is posted on the outside bulletin board at Town Hall, on this website and, when required by general statute, in the local newspaper.